Times Square

http://edwardianpromenade.com/?p=70

5 thoughts on “Times Square

  1. I enjoyed reading this so much – I always learn something when I come by, and you know how much I love NYC history!

    My mother used to go down to Times Square for new Year’s Eve in the 1940s when she was a student, and when WW II ended she and her friends dropped everything and went there to join the celebration…

  2. Thank for you for the wonderful valentine to Times Square. I’ve lived in New York my entire life and have come to appreciate the Square whenever I see old movies. Now it has become so Disneyfied at least to those of us who lived through the years when it was a little seedy. But you have just reminded me that it actually is probably now more what it was like at the turn of the century with restaurants and theaters galore. Of course, Red Lobster and Ruby Tuesday can’t compare to Rector’s or Sherry’s!

  3. What a wonderful post to one of my favorite areas in New York. I’ve read many interesting histories about Times Square, including Devil’s Playground, but you captured the spirit in your post. As a native New Yorker, Times Square has great meaning, although I sort of miss the seediness of the old 42nd street, compared to the current Disney version. Although the more things change, the more they stay the same. Just switch out Red Lobster for Rector’s.

  4. Since my WIP is set in turn of the century New York, I’m learning so much about the city. Can you believe that I’ve never visited, despite spending a great portion of my life on the East Coast? I hope to make a trip sometime soon. I know I’ll need at least two weeks to take it all in (if not Long Island’s Gold Coast, Newport, the Berkshires and Adirondacks).

  5. If you do, you have to check out the library at the Historical Society. Its saved me money in terms of doing research, although I still end up buying books! So much of Edwardian New York has disappeared unfortunately, but there are still a few standing mansions that have been converted into museums like the Frick, the Morgan, and the Cooper-Hewitt. My YA is set in turn of the century New York as well.

Leave a Reply

