The Chemistry of Beauty

http://edwardianpromenade.com/?p=63

10 thoughts on “The Chemistry of Beauty

  1. I was interested to read about Harriet Hubbard Ayer’s perfumes, since I own a book that she wrote about beauty – which I do want to write about on the Virtual Dime Museum down the road. She did a couple of makeovers (with photos) that are really funny.

  2. Wonderful post. I love perfume. I wore Chanel No. 5 for years. I’m surprised though that you didn’t mention Creed as one of the earlier perfumers. And ick on the Belladonna drops, but LOL about Queen Alexandra and the enamel. She did have a tendency to look like she had a portrait in the attic that aged while she didn’t.

  3. I’ve never heard of Creed (quick jaunt to wikipedia)–how neat. I must read more on the firm. Do you have any suggestions?

  4. I do want to write about on the Virtual Dime Museum down the road. She did a couple of makeovers (with photos) that are really funny.

    Please do! I’ve always been interested in cosmetics.

  5. Pingback: La Belle Epoque « Afro Bombshell

  6. I am looking Nestle Superset Wave Lotion used up thru the 1990s. It seems to be off the market and it was wonderful. Do you know who bought it out and what name it is currently sold under? I used it for years as did my mother and grandmother and I want some more.

    • Judy if you find it please let me know! I had used it for 25 years and then suddenly they pulled it off the shelves! I was so disappointed. I now use Alterna Hemp Straigtening Balm but it is not exactly the same, but works fairly well. Let me know. Thanks. Norma

Leave a Reply

