Vegetarianism

http://edwardianpromenade.com/?p=61

5 thoughts on “Vegetarianism

  1. Another fascinating post. I know that George Bernard Shaw was a vegetarian which may have contributed to his long life. I resolve to have at least one vegetarian character in my next WIP! Probably a secondary character, because I don’t if the world is ready for a vegetarian historical hero.

  2. LOL!

    I think it can be done, but I have a suspicion that some readers might think you’re pushing an agenda rather than adding a historical tidbit to your character!

  3. You must be psychic – I was just wondering about the history of vegetarianism, as I was writing about one of my 1920s cookbooks which has a vegetarian section. This was not in my history blog (The Virtual Dime Museum) but my food-history-cum-retro-cookbooks-and-ads blog, http://kitchenretro.wordpress.com

    I would like to hyperlink to your post, which is most informative – hope this is OK

  4. Pingback: The Poetry of Crisco, 1920 « Kitchen Retro

  5. Dear Eve,
    This was very enlightening. I always thought vegetarianism started back in the 60s or 70s with hippies, but I see my thoughts were wrong. Very good post, and thanks for adding a link to my blog.

Leave a Reply

