The American Heiress

http://edwardianpromenade.com/?p=60

10 thoughts on “The American Heiress

  1. Wonderful post, and funnily enough, I’ve read all those books. American heiresses marrying British aristocrats is one of my favorite subjects. I’m surprised it hasn’t been used more in romance. Thanks for the information about the earlier transatlantic matches.

  2. I love the topic of the American heiress as well. So much so, I try to work one into most of the novels I write. *g*

  3. I loved “To Marry an English Lord,” both as a book to read and as a research resource. I’m actually using this exact moment in English-American history as a backdrop to my WIP, so Elizabeth, there will be at least one book in romance with this topic in mind. 🙂

    All in all, a lovely post, I can’t wait to go through your archives for more information!

    P.S. I hope you don’t mind, but I added you to my “affiliates and links” page.

  4. Isn’t it a lovely book? I really need to purchase my own copy because I just hate dropping it in the return slot when I’ve used all my renewals. *g*

    I don’t mind–I added you too!

  5. Thank you for a posting that is as wise as it is informative. I would like to mention in passing some further readings, namely Edith Wharton’s Age of Innocence, which portrays the memorable Countess Olenska in all of her burnished, noble beauty. In a different vein, Henry James’ Princess Casamassima (whom we encounter in James’ Roderick Hudson, before being auctioned off in marriage) shows the results of a marriage of an American (not an heiress but a famous beauty) into the aristocracy.

    I will certainly look into some of the books that are referenced, most certainly The Glitter and the Gold.

  6. Thanks for your comment Burgo!
    I have read the Wharton, and love Ellen Olenska, but have read neither of the James’s. I’ll have to go check them out!

  7. Rick, make sure to let us know when your book is complete! I’m more than interested to know the backstories of these matches.

    Evangeline, I’m glad we’re affiliates now! I do the same thing with my resource books. I’m sure the librarians are considering to let me keep some of them because I’m pretty sure I’m the only one checking these sort of books out. Failing that, I also keep a couple of research notebooks where I write down key details that I need to remember whether I have the original book or not. Maybe try that? It’s cheaper than buying all your favorite resource books. …Though, I plan on buying my favorites anyway.

Leave a Reply

